Strong Governance

Haven; Home, Safe is guided by a committed, independent Board of Directors which provides strong governance and stewardship on behalf of our broader community.

Sue Clarke Haven Home Safe Board

Sue Clarke

Sue has held senior positions in Health and Community Services over the past four decades including 12 years as CEO of Bendigo Community Health Services. She also holds board positions as a Director of Ambulance Victoria, Bendigo Health Care Group, Murray PHN, Zonta Club of Bendigo, and is a member of the Central Victorian AICD Advisory Committee.

Andrew Cairns Board

Andrew Cairns
Deputy Chair

Andrew Cairns is the CEO of Community Sector Banking and has 15 years’ experience in senior management roles. He is also the Chair of the regional urban water authority, Coliban Water.

David Brant Board

David Brant

David Brant, former North East Housing Service Director and London Business School graduate with extensive skills in strategy development and implementation. With over 20 years’ experience in Corporate Governance in Australia and a number of countries in Asia, David provides management consultancy to businesses looking to improve their top and bottom lines.

Bill ONeil Board

Bill O’Neil

Bill is a town planner and regional economic development practitioner. He operates his own consulting business, serving a range of public and private sector clients. Bill is also a sessional member of Planning Panels Victoria and a Director on the Board of the Bendigo Health Care Group.

Ken Belfrage Board

Ken Belfrage

Ken was until his
retirement a Partner at AFS
& Associates accounting
practice. He was a chartered
accountant with 34 years in
public accounting.

Melanie Rogers Haven Home Safe Board

Melanie Rogers

Melanie Rogers is an experienced governance and HR/IT executive with many years’ experience in local government and community sector. Melanie is also a committee member of the Bellarine Bayside Foreshore Committee of Management.

Jan Boynton Board

Jan Boynton

Jan Boynton is an independent executive consultant with over 25 years’ experience at Executive and CEO level in local and state government and the not-for-profit sector across regional Victoria.

Tony Bridge Board

Tony Bridge

Tony is a Founding Partner in strategic advisory and project management business Sweett Group (formerly BurnsBridge Sweett) and has 21 years’ involvement in strategic advice, particularly in affordable housing, retirement/aged care, health, and church/not for profits.

Warwick Cavanagh

Chair of Active Inclusive Housing; Director of National Disability Service (NDS).  Former CEO of MOIRA Disability & Youth Services and prior to that Manager, Melbourne Sexual Health Centre and Senior Manager, Commonwealth Rehabilitation Service. 


Fifteen years’ parliamentary experience as former Member for Northern. Former State Government Minister for Housing, Local Government, Energy and Resources and Ports.  An Independent Trustee Director of First Super, Chair of the First Super Remuneration and Nomination Committee and Member of the First Super Investment Committee and Audit & Compliance Committee. Chair of Safe Steps  Family Violence Response Centre; Deputy Chair of Women’s Health Victoria; Chair of PrimeSafe; Director of the Australian Council of Superannuation Investors; Director of Hepburn Community Wind Farm.  Founding member of Emily’s List. 

Our Strategic Direction


  1. To provide a range of sustainable housing outcomes for people who are homeless or in housing crisis.
  1. To provide advocacy and support for our diverse clientele with a particular focus on developing life skills and individual capacity.
  1. To advocate, collaborate and participate to improve the resources available to the sector in order to deliver sustainable outcomes for people who are homeless or in housing crisis.
  1. To develop and maintain the people, capital, infrastructure and financial capacity of the organisation to effectively
    and sustainably achieve its Purpose and deliver its services.